Home » Mary's Musings » Flashback moments

Flashback moments


Lately I’ve been transported back in time…back to grammar school and I’m being corrected from saying, “Can I go to the bathroom,” to “May I go to the bathroom?”  It’s so funny how phrases can take you back.  I was corrected many times by my 3rd grade teacher when I used to ask the aforementioned question.  I’d begin with, “Can I…” and she’d just look and wait for you to correct the wording of the question.  Sometimes instead of a look she’d say, “I don’t know, can you?”  It still makes me laugh when I think about it…

So Laurie Haggerty, if you’re out there….I didn’t appreciate the lesson then, but I get it now.  So, thanks…

Leave a Reply

