Home » Mary's Musings » Recap of a great week

Recap of a great week


This has been one of those weeks that I have really appreciated & enjoyed.  I shopped for friends & family.  I unexpectedly got to join friends at a Bible Study. I gave a friend a surprise that made us both smile and capped off the week by giving gifts to friends at work. 

The Bible Study was such a nice way to just relax and get my mind off my ‘to do’ list.  We all have them, especially at this time of year.  All of us present were reminded of the true meaning of this time of year.  We get so wrapped up in getting gifts for people so we can simply cross them off our list.  We don’t want to be unprepared and we rack our brains trying to get the ‘perfect gift.’  We know deep down that the ‘perfect gift’ isn’t supposed to be materialistic….it could be time we give others, it could be a card that says ‘thanks for all you do’….maybe it’s just being around family and friends.  To me, the true meaning of Christmas is having an appreciation of something bigger than ourselves.  We’re put on this earth to do for others…to make things easier for those who are struggling.  I, for one, know I don’t do that enough.  The lady in charge of the Bible Study said that too many times we are stuck in society’s world instead of in God’s world.  We want to have one foot in each…to have our cake and eat it too. 

It will be my hope that 2010 will be a year where I step back and keep my feet in God’s world.  I want it be a year I really try and emulate his actions…and not get so caught up in the ‘perfect job,’ moving my way up, etc… Those things will all work out if I just have faith that I’m right where I’m supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

