Home » Mary's Musings » Coming together

Coming together


For those that know me well, they know that I enjoy watching college basketball (specifically women’s) as much as most Americans enjoy watching football.  Yesterday afternoon, the OU women’s team was to play Texas A & M here in Norman.  I almost stayed home to watch it, figuring I could do things while watching the game.  This mentality is rare for me.  At approximately 18 minutes before tip, I was in my car headed to arena.  Roughly 2 hours later, post victory for the Sooners, I was glad I came.  Yes, there were still turnovers caused by errant passes, thoughtless plays…but what I saw yesterday that I didn’t see Wednesday v. Baylor, was that the girls fought back…they got offensive rebounds when they needed it most, they attacked the defenders and most importantly, in my opinion, they were patient.  They kept shooting and they waited for the good look.  They got loose balls and didn’t give up on fast breaks.  I was so proud of the way they clicked.  As their coach frequently says, when they play together, it’s hard to stop them.  They played with passion and clearly wanted to win. They know what it means to protect their home court.  And with regard to their intro video, yesterday they were definitely….ALL IN!  Good job, girls!

Leave a Reply

