Home » Mary's Musings » Today’s musings

Today’s musings


As I write this, we’re in the middle of another ice and mini-snow storm.  We only worked half a day and have tomorrow off.  I came home armed with work that I could do.  My work bag has stayed right where I put it down….how long will it stay there?  Who knows. 

On the way home, I stopped at the store.  My main mission was to get bread but I soon had in my hands popcorn, chips and a sappy fiction book.  I’ve now been home a few hours….the movie ‘You’ve Got Mail’ is playing in the background and I’m snacking on the popcorn….and no work has gotten done.   I’m okay with that though.  My fidgety impulse comes to a halt each time I look out the window and see the sleet falling.  I can’t help but smile and be calm.  I love watching the layers of white accumulate on my porch.  I open my door and feel that brisk burst of cold air.  It’s refreshing.  I’m in sweats and a long sleeve shirt.  So what if I don’t get any more work done today….the article I have to write or papers to grade can wait a day.  Right now, I’m going to enjoy the moment.

One thought on “Today’s musings

  1. Aaaah, brings me back to when I lived out East. I lived in Vermont for 4 years going to college (UVM) and honestly, if I never see snow again, well, it’ll be too soon! But, you made it sound so good Mary! “Refreshing..” I do remember that!

Leave a Reply

