Home » Mary's Musings » Photography class

Photography class


So, I signed up for a photography class a couple of weeks ago.  I’ve been pumped about it ever since…until last week.  It was day one of our class.  I walked in and was still excited, told the instructor my name and then sat down and started visiting with another girl there.  She had this beautiful Nikon D60 camera.  I didn’t know her well enough to rip it away and convince her to let me use it.  So I just complimented her on it and then busied myself with my camera.  Well, we co some minor introductions.  Come to find out, I was the only one in the class with a 35mm camera.  Granted, it is a very nice camera but still…it uses the f-word: film.  We went through the class and the instructor gave us things to practice.  I looked around and felt like those activities we looked at when we were kids, “Which one of these things doesn’t belong?”  The class was interesting and I wasn’t at a complete disadvantage….until he asked us to practice during the week and then ‘post’ pictures to their website so he could critique and comment. 

Well the week goes on and I put it out of my mind when at work.  I struggled with figuring out how I was going to post my pictures, how I was going to fit into this class.  I thought to myself, ‘great, I’m going to have to blow a roll of film every week…what was I thinking? How did I not see this was strictly for digital cameras?’  I was very close to not continuing the class.  Yesterday I began an e-mail exchange with the instructor who ultimately convinced me that as long as I practice and look over slides, I should be fine.  He recommended that I stay in the class. 

So, I’ve been home for about an hour and can honestly say I’m glad I went to the class.  It was kind of funny because Dustin, the instructor, teased me a few times and singled me out saying he’ll start using film again.  As I was walking out after class, a Mom and daughter who are also in the class stopped me and said, “Mary, are you in a hurry?”  I said no and walked over to them.  She asked, “you have a film camera, right?”  I laughed and said that I did.  We chatted for a few minutes about my camera and she said that her daughter is taking a class in Europe this summer and it requires her to have a film camera.  I teased her saying that if I have gotten a digital camera by then, we’ll work some sort of trade out.  We chatted a minute or so more and then parted ways.  I walked to my car smiling thinking that I made the right choice to follow through with the class.  I love photography and will keep the faith that I will leave this class a better photographer….not just a person who happens to take great pictures….with her preferred camera, and this will make my instructor shudder….but a Kodak point-and-shoot.  I’m learning to appreciate my 35mm though….patience in all that we do.

10 thoughts on “Photography class

  1. See, I think it’s RAD that you are so…unique, funky and cool without even trying to be! I’m glad you had your 35 mm camera that uses the “F” – word (love that line gurl!). I used to always tell my little niece when she came home feeling out of place to “work her magic”… and Ms. Mary, you know, you already do! Can’t wait to see the pics. Hopefully if you choose to develop some of them maybe you’ll scan them in and let us enjoy your ART? And if not, that’s cool too — but, maybe, if we say pretty-please you will? I hope so! Happy shooting!

    • Thanks Nadia! I always love reading your comments. Naturally, they made me feel better. I’ll be happy to post some pictures. We have a week off of class next week so I have some extra time to play around. Not to brag, but I’m pretty proud of the ones I’ve taken with my digital. I’ll have to figure out how to link them to the blog.

      “Unique, funky and cool without even trying..” that was too sweet, thanks!

      -Mary

  2. My wife and I were reorganizing our stuff the other day, spring cleaning you know, and decided to go through our pictures…The “F” kind. I think it is going to lead to some “memory lane” posts.

    I have not gotten into the digital camera age and don’t even know how to scan and post pictures. The art part I do know something about, though second-hand. My wife used to do art photos and my brother is a professional photographer.

    Based on their experiences, I think you are going to have a great time with the class and will make beautiful Photos…Can’t wait to see them.

    • Thanks Roger! I always enjoy looking at old pictures because they do bring back memories for me. I have decided that the ‘art’ I’ll post around my place will be pictures I’ve taken or that my sister has taken. Nothing against art you can buy or someone else’s work but I’d rather it be more meaningful. My sister hung a few of the pictures I’ve taken around her house and that meant a lot.

  3. This is really interesting – the whole idea of a film class. That’s something I’d like to take up as well, ever since getting my chintzy little pocket digital camera.

    I’ll have to fork over some major change to get a decent one first, but I think it’ll be worth it.

    You know what’s frustrating though? Seeing interesting people on the street, and wanting to take their picture, but feeling the need to refrain, in case they get all angry at you. (I did it once, and the guy started coming after me. Not pleasant).

    Have fun with your F-camera. 🙂

    • If that was to me, yea, I do think I will. I plan on dedicating some time this weekend to my cameras…my family will be in town which means ample opportunities of my adorable nephews and niece, ha!

      • Yes indeed, that was to you. I just pushed the wrong reply button.

        My family was not so much into taking pictures. I wish there had been more.

        Margaret’s family, on the other hand, took so many that the photos need their own truck whenever we move.

        Just keep on clicking! 8)

Leave a Reply

