Home » Mary's Musings » From commercials to stadiums…

From commercials to stadiums…


The stage was set.  The day was perfect.  It was Bedlam football.  I knew it’d be a crazy day but crazy can be good sometimes.  I’m fortunate to work the football games and because of that, I get to be around some neat people.  I also get to see and meet some prestigious individuals as well.  Here’s a story about one of them.

Standing off to the side of the Santee Lounge, I saw a man and his wife come inside with some friends.  I thought to myself, “Gosh that guy looks familiar.”  He was in jeans, boots (the shade of orange should’ve given it away) and dressed fairly average otherwise.  The group only stayed a few minutes before heading toward the elevator outside.  As they left, it hit me…the man that intrigued me was none other than the oil & gas tycoon and spokesman for energy independence, T. Boone Pickens.   Being the supervisor, it is my responsibility to call for an elevator.  So after saying to myself, “Even if he is an OSU fan, what the heck…” so I went and joined Mr. Pickens and his group outside.  I told him the elevator has to be called and while we waited, we made small talk (despite his team being down at the time and not playing well).  He was nice enough and I couldn’t help but glance at the gentleman in front of me, shades on, seemingly down-to-earth. I didn’t make a big fuss and didn’t feel the need to introduce myself.   I just did my job and then walked away.  Did I smile at the fact that I was just talking to T. Boone Pickens, the billionaire who has a stadium named after him?  The man who is on tv advocating that we appreciate our natural resources and be more efficient with them?  Darn right I did…

4 thoughts on “From commercials to stadiums…

  1. “Being the supervisor, it is my responsibility to call for an elevator..” That’s my girl, using whatever it takes to get what she wants! AWESOME! So very very cool!

Leave a Reply

