Home » Mary's Musings » Musings on “first day of spring”

Musings on “first day of spring”


Today is the first day of spring…but it’s hard to believe when I look out the window and see snow on the ground.  I went to bed about 12:15 this morning and there wasn’t anything falling yet.  About 8 hours later, all the ground was covered as were cars in the parking lot.  When I woke up, I looked out the window and saw it for myself, “sure enough, we did get snow.  So much for first day of spring, ha” I said out loud.  I hit the ‘on’ button on coffeemaker and then put in my contacts and brushed my teeth. Just like I did during previous storms, I got up a few times and glanced out the window to take in the sight of snow falling.  Yea, I was okay with waiting another day for spring..

I had an appointment for a massage this morning.  No matter the weather conditions, I was going to make it.   The tension in my shoulders was going to win out over the snow.  It only took about 5 minutes to brush off my car which was a nice change from previous storms.  I headed to the massage place in anticipation of a nice, relaxing hour of being pampered.  After filling out paperwork, I was led to a room by the  massage therapist.  She asked if I had any questions.  I shook my head no but told her my knees were ticklish and to avoid them….or else, there was a chance I’d accidentally kick her.  She just laughed and nodded her head.  It took me a while to fully relax though she was doing her best to help make it easier.  When I flipped over and she was working on my neck and shoulders, I felt like I was totally relaxed, like I was in a warm bath.  Maybe this is more details than readers care to know…but gosh, it felt good.  Everyone needs a little pampering now and then…so I’m thinking I may have to do this massage thing more often….

11 thoughts on “Musings on “first day of spring”

  1. First let me say I’m sorry you had to deal with a little more snow today. But see how brilliant you are? I’d be all mad and annoyed (knowing full well it would get me anywhere) and you just blow it off and decide to wait for spring another day (cool, calm and collected, I enjy you!).

    Now, the massage thing: girl, you should do that as often as you can! Or whatever releases stress! Glad you enjoyed it, and I hope you decide to do it again soon. Yes, we all deserve a little pampering more often than not! Happy Saturday my sistah-girl!

    Nadia!

    • This is what I get for trying to write on my phone: Let me revise a few things: “First let me say I’m sorry you had to deal with a little more snow today. But see how brilliant you are? I’d be all mad and annoyed (knowing full well it wouldn’t get me anywhere) and you just blow it off and decide to wait for spring another day (cool, calm and collected, I envy you!)

      ugghh..forgive me! no more writing on my cell while I sit at the beach! YIKES!

      • Oh, the beach…how fun! I have to laugh as our softball team has been out your way for the past few days, probably enjoying the beautiful sun…and would imagine are on a flight as I write this. They’ll hate coming home to snow. I digress. I knew what you meant with your comments. You are so forgiven 😉

  2. Hey friend!

    Aww, well thanks. I’ve definitely lightened up over the years so if more snow means I just need to allow more time when going out, then that’s what I’ll do. I wasn’t ready for it to go…it is pretty seeing the white on all the rooftops.

    Yea, the massage thing…there was a community appreciation deal that I bought. I have two other things to use on the card so I’m looking forward to more pampering, ha!

    Hope you’re having a good day!

    Mary

    • Honestly, I was having a “yukky” day. But your post put things in perspective. I’m serious! I’m thinking I need to be a lot more “relaxed” about things. As you said, “lighten up” a bit! So, yeah, now I’m having a better day. Thank you!

      • There’s a time to ponder things and be serious…and there’s a time for just letting life happen and going with the flow. It’s like that Serenity Prayer…having the courage to change things and wisdom to know when to just step back and relax.

        Seriously, I probably need to get out of the house…getting way too insightful, ha!

  3. I think massages are highly overlooked or underrated or something. I *know* they just make everything so much better. Often, a good massage therapist will find knots you didn’t know you had.

    Too bad you had ride home from your appointment in that tension-gathering snow. 🙂

    • Actually the roads weren’t that bad and the snow wasn’t falling that heavy. Yea, I had a lot of ‘tension points’ or whatever she called it in my shoulders. I’m sure it’s because of the way I sit at work. Today, however, I think the remnants of our lovely weather will create a tad bit of havoc but I will get to the girls game tonight….even if I have to go 10 mph.

  4. Hi Mary,

    I just dropped by to see you, and find that you have repainted your blog house. It is an interesting look. You girls!…Always redecorating. 8)

    I hope the game was good. See you later.

    Roger

    • Hey Roger, thanks for stopping by. I do like to change my theme often (or redecorating as you call it, ha!) and haven’t found one I really, really like yet…

      The game was good, thanks. The OU women won and will play again tomorrow here in Norman.

Leave a Reply

