Home » Mary's Musings » Oh look, a chicken…

Oh look, a chicken…


This is nothing personal to people who have been diagnosed with A.D.D. but is merely to share some humor.  My older sister and I got our other sister a t-shirt with this message on the front: “They say I have A.D.D. but they don’t understand.  Oh look, a chicken.”  Add that to what Ellen Degeneres talks about in her HBO special, I feel like I’m totally emulating it ‘to a T.’ 

I am leaving on a trip tomorrow.  I woke up at 7:30ish this morning, ready to take on the day which would include laundry, packing, church and end with a baseball game.  I got up and started with my usual routine…hit the ‘on’ button for coffeemaker and headed to brush my teeth.  I then started a load of laundry.  I sat down to check my phone for e-mails and turn on the Today Show.  Shortly after, my mind began to lose focus.  I hopped up to grab my suitcase from the closet and bag I’d use as a carry-on.  The first load of laundry was done so I hung those on the drying rack and put towels in the dryer.  I went back to sit down to have another sip of coffee.  My phone lit up saying it was my move on Words with Friends.  Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted a pile of random stuff so I started sorting through that.  I got up for more coffee and then stopped to clean up some stuff on the counter.  Are you noticing a pattern here?  I had a left my Mom a message about something so when she called, I pushed pause on my remote as I was watching an old Oprah show and answered the call.  I practically didn’t let her get anything in as I said, “Mom, my A.D.D. is kicking in bad today…sheesh, I have about 5 piles going and am all over the place.”  She just started laughing and responded, “isn’t it bad….there is a serious case of Ellenitis going around.”  I hung up the phone…went back to the pile I was working on and then got up again to put in another load of laundry.

Well, after laughing at myself and my piles….naturally, I realized this might be blog-worthy….so I once again stopped what I was doing to switch gears and grabbed my laptop to do this blog.  I’m proud to say that I didn’t stop once I started typing….but it’s already 10:00, I really should get up and shower.

Leave a Reply

