Home » Mary's Musings » When a book makes you think

When a book makes you think


I love when you read a book and it makes an impression on you…..leaves you wanting to be a better person.  Without giving too much away, the book I’m referring to is The Christmas List by Richard Paul Evans.  After an obituary is written (falsely) about the main character, he is forced to think about and reflect on what others think about him.  With a new outlook on life, he chooses to ‘make amends’ with those he has hurt. 

There were times when I stopped reading and thought about what people think of me….what would I change about how I live my life.  If I were on the outside looking in, would I like what I saw?   I walked away from this book with, perhaps, a renewed sense of purpose.  I may not remember it every day…but I want to try and leave everyone around me better.  I have referenced this quote  before (Maya Angelou’s, I believe), “When you know better, you do better.”  If I were to die tomorrow, I would want people to have nothing but nice things to say about me.  I wouldn’t be the person I am today without them so I hope I have reciprocated what they have given me. 

So, long story short….I highly encourage those readers out there to check out this book.  It’s a quick, but inspirational read.  It will leave you thinking, “hmm, is this the best I can do?”

5 thoughts on “When a book makes you think

  1. A wonderful recommendation — thanks. And yes, that is Maya Angelou’s qoute (she is my favorite poet after-all). Now you have me thinking…and I was just about to go to bed!

    Thanks Mares.

    Carm~

  2. I read “The Christmas List” and had a very similar experience. It really made me evaluate a lot of things. Most of Evans’ books do!

    I love your blog 🙂

    • Hi Jana,

      I agree about Evans’ books….I love books that leave you with a message or good feeling.

      Thanks for comment about my blog.

      Mary

    • No I haven’t but heard that was good as well. I was just at the library last night but forgot to look for it. When I’m done with the two I got, I’ll have to remember that one. I try and mix up my reading but inspirational ones like that never get old. Thanks for reminder.

Leave a Reply

