Home » Mary's Musings » Pioneer Woman

Pioneer Woman


There’s 3 women standing in the hall way.  A dialogue begins (and I’m paraphrasing)…co-worker to our boss: “Oh, I saw Pioneer Woman. I can’t wait to hear her.  I should be able to make it”   Our boss: “Oh I know.  I thought I was going to miss it but my schedule is open.”  My eyes are darting between the two of them, half-confused, half-smiling at their enthusiasm bordering on giddiness.  Co-worker leaves.  I turn to our boss and ask, “Who’s Pioneer Woman?”  She looks at me and says, “Seriously?  Ugh, get in here…” We walk to my office.  She sits down at my desk and types in “Pioneer Woman” into google and poof, up comes the blog that has taken the blogging world by storm.  She proceeds to tell me about this woman and clicks on the different links of her blog.  “You have to read about how she met her ‘Marlboro Man’..you just have to…start from the beginning.”  She says “has to” as if my job depends on it.  Standing behind her, I say “okay, I will.” 

In typical OU fashion, they get the speakers people want to hear on campus.  “Pioneer Woman”  will be here next month.  Oh yes, it’s now on my calendar. 

I’ve now spent the last hour or so reading her blog.  For those who follow my blog (and yes, forgive me Father, I know it’s been like a hundred years since my last posting)…you know I love when writers have that knack for transforming the reader.  Pioneer Woman has that knack.  For those who have no clue who I’m talking about….google her like my boss did for me.  I promise, you’ll be hooked just like I am.

Leave a Reply

