Home » Mary's Musings » Making it Out

Making it Out


Skating anyone?

For the past three days, I haven’t left my apartment.  Just when I thought I’d start planning my work outfit for the next day, I’d get the automated call saying we would be closed another day.  Alrighty then….plan B.  Today was day three and so when I got up, I was determined to shower, put on make-up and at least go get the mail.  I cleared the snow from right outside my door and made it to my car no problem.  It was cold out (correction, it is still cold out….about 18 degrees to be exact)…but anyway, it was bearable.  I was armed with my wallet (which holds my drivers license…apparently I had the bright idea I’d try and go off the apartment property….well, that and I figured I’d be legal driving the less than one mile to the mailbox).  I also had grabbed my phone and digital camera…the latter because despite the frigid temps and ice on the road, those are silly reasons as to why I wouldn’t stop in the middle of the road and capture a shot of the frozen pond (and yes, I did stop in the middle of the black-ice filled road and roll down my window, letting in 17 degree wind so that I could snap a picture).  After thinking my car had long enough time to warm up, I slowly backed out of my parking space and proceeded cautiously down the street.  The road really wasn’t that bad if by “not that bad” you mean snow drifts and ice everywhere.  This is really a good taste of patience as in, “for the love of God, can I go any slower??”  I made it to the mailbox just fine….amazing what prayers will do to help though.  “Please God, don’t let me hit that car or slide and hit the curb…”  “Oh boy, there’s another car…”  I parked (coasted, really) into a spot and then got my mail (3 pieces of junk to be exact).  I again said a prayer as I backed out of my spot, taking in another clump of snow as got closer to edge of driveway.  A Jeep Grand Cherokee was entering the apartment property and drove by, looking at me like, “good luck getting back…” I’ll admit this is when I don’t like having a low car but I made it back just fine, thank you.  I backed into a spot near my apartment and then walked up sidewalk then stopped to take a few shots.

One thought on “Making it Out

Leave a Reply

