Home » Mary's Musings » Glass Half Full

Glass Half Full


Over the past few weeks, I’ve been taught a few lessons in perspective.  How you look at things can impact your mood, your outlook and your well-being.  One day you can be rolling along just fine, and then a mere 24 hours later, your world can be turned upside down.  When this happened recently to me, I had a slew of emotions: anger, shock, confusion, anxiety and yet pride.  I didn’t see this coming and yet a part of me is angry I didn’t. Years ago, I would’ve stuck to anger and wouldn’t have handled it very maturely.  Thankfully, age has helped and after the initial shock wore off, I flipped the switch and thought, “Okay, let’s find the good in this…” and I came up with the following: my confidence grew, self-esteem got bumped up a notch, anxiety turned to enthusiasm, and I was proud of not completely losing it.  Negative emotions will get me nowhere and simply be a waste of time.

The “event” happened over a week ago.  I have turned the page on that short story and am excited to see what the next chapter holds.  I know God will help guide me on the right path where my faith stays strong and I don’t lose my footing.  I have all the support I need around me and welcome the challenge.  I know I will be better off for this and that God wouldn’t give me more than I could handle.

2 thoughts on “Glass Half Full

  1. Mary, you’re so right — attitude makes all the difference in the world. I’ve also found that finding things to be thankful for can shift my perspective on an entire day. May God continue to uphold and guide you!

    • Hi Cheryl,

      Thank you for your comment. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become more aware of my attitude and how it has such a ripple effect not only on myself but those around me. It absolutely can impact one on a day-to-day basis.

      Good to hear from you. Hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

