Home » Mary's Musings » Life’s tests

Life’s tests


As we near the end of the first month of the year, I figured now was a good time to do a check of the goals I made just a few weeks ago.  I came across a quote that was simple, yet fitting: “The only way to have a life is to commit to it like crazy (Angelina Jolie).”  I want to have a life I’m proud of and do not honestly feel like I have “committed to it like crazy.”  I guess this has come to a head recently.  Granted, I am making a more conscious effort to go the extra mile and follow through better…..but not on everything.  I pick the easy things…like my responsibilities at work.  Consequently, the personal vices and unhealthy habits are taking a back seat.  The cool part that keeps me going is that I know my self-confidence will soar, my overall well-being will be on a whole other level and I’ll be happier with myself.  I can’t help but smile thinking about that.  I get in these little ruts when my mind gets consumed with fixing what is bothering me.  Life’s too short for these choices.  If I made the same effort on my habits as I do my work, I’d be in a better place.  Well, reality check to me: it’s not impossible.  No more being in a funk….no more telling one of my closest friends “I’m fine” when it’s not the truth.  Many people have issues they’d rather do without but that is part of life.  We encounter challenges to test us and make us better. I’m determined to not only pass the test, but leave it in the dust when I’m done.

 “It is not enough to take steps which may some day lead to a goal; each step must be itself a goal and a step likewise.” -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

One thought on “Life’s tests

  1. I like that thought in the last quote you mentioned — each step must be a goal. If we would think more like that, we’d feel much more successul — many more goals achieved that way!

Leave a Reply

