Home » Mary's Musings » No More Excuses

No More Excuses


As I write this, it’s Sunday night.  I am ending the weekend on a proud note.  For the past 3 weeks, my weekends have been full of choices that were based on fun, what was convenient for me and what I wanted to do.  Today, I made room for a choice based on one other factor: what I should be doing.  I was out running errands and got done about 4:15.  I had two options-go home and maybe do something productive….or kill some time before 5:00 mass.  I chose the latter and am glad I did.  The season of Lent starts this Wednesday.  I shouldn’t need a reason to get back into attending mass again but certainly doesn’t hurt.  In addition, a person close to me is having surgery tomorrow.  Giving up one hour to spend some time with God was a way of showing him how grateful I am that I know he’ll watch over her tomorrow. 

The second reason I am proud of myself is because I worked out tonight for the first time in months.  I felt really good while I was exercising.  I can’t help but laugh now as my shoulders are already sore and I will be slow going up the stairs tomorrow.  But…that’s not the point.  I stopped procrastinating and finally followed through.  I hope this is the start of another good bit of change for me.  Giving up two hours of my time to make myself healthier in more ways than physical is well worth it to me.

2 thoughts on “No More Excuses

    • Of course! I have to have “me time” so I get rejuvenated 😉 A girlfriend and I started walking this week and hope to continue weekly. We get to exercise and visit…win-win in my book!

Leave a Reply

