Home » Mary's Musings » The Power of the Pause

The Power of the Pause


Thanks to someone’s post on Twitter, I discovered a link to a recent commencement address by Maria Shriver to Communications graduates of USC. Click here to listen and watch the whole address.  As always, she did a great job as she is such an eloquent speaker.  The focus of her message and advice to the graduates was simply to take a moment to pause in your life.  “Here you go, ready to hit the fast forward button, trying to get all the answers to the questions.  But before you do this, I am hoping and praying you have the courage to press the Pause button, yes, that’s right…the Pause button.”  After I heard this, I smiled and thought to myself how simple yet powerful her words were and how so many of us need to hear that over and over again.  We go racing through the events in our life, not taking time to enjoy what’s happening right now because we are so busy planning what’s next. 

I closed on my first house this past Friday. There have already been times I’ve thought about what all I need to pack, what date do I want to make as a target to move in, what all I want done before I move in, etc… After watching Maria’s speech, I want to enjoy this process…not make it stressful.  Frankly, the most stressful part is behind me with the closing process.  The house is mine and it’s not going anywhere.  I have plenty of time to move in and clean out my apartment.  Each time I go over to the new house to clean or check on something, I pause and take the time to realize what an exciting time this is for me. 

One of my favorite lines from her speech, though there are many, is the following: “Pausing today, and throughout your entire life, allows you to take a breath. It allows you to take a beat.  It allows you to be in the moment.” 

So often we hear the saying “Cherish the little things” and sometimes we just roll our eyes and don’t fully appreciate the true meaning of that phrase.  Those “little things” frequently lead to big things so thanks to Maria, I plan to not worry about what’s to come, all the packing that needs to be done.  I plan to be in the moment and take things one day at a time.  I plan to pause and be grateful that I have this opportunity.  I hope you all do the same.

Sincerely,
Hitting the Pause Button in Norman…

2 thoughts on “The Power of the Pause

Leave a Reply

