Home » Mary's Musings » Unplugged

Unplugged


The weather was beautiful today so I decided to go for a walk after work.  I got home, changed clothes and grabbed something quick to eat.  After attempting to find the ear buds that go to my iPod, I gave up and decided to just enjoy the walk without any distractions.  I opened the garage door and walked to the drive way.    Just then a lady and her family were walking by but stopped when they heard my garage door.  She turned to me and said, “Hi, we’re your neighbors.”  I smiled and walked toward her, extending my hand.  She and her husband reiterated how quiet the neighborhood was and to let them know if I ever needed anything.  I couldn’t help but walk away feeling so glad to have chosen this area for my first house. 

For the next 20 minutes or so, I walked around the neighborhood, letting my thoughts wander and just enjoy the time.  I had no phone on me, no music playing in my ears, and simply soaked in nature.  This is definitely something I don’t do enough but want to do more of in the future.  When I go out-of-town, even if it’s just for a few days, I’m guilty of checking my work e-mail from my phone.  This drives my best friend crazy and I hear about it when I return to work.  I’m making a real concerted effort to “let things go” when the work day ends…to not check e-mail.   Granted, I love my job….but life’s too short to be tied to it.   As my boss says, “there are no emergencies in our line of work…”

I intend on making more use of the nice weather…and heck, the exercise can do me good too. 

Sincerely,
Unplugged in Norman

Leave a Reply

