Home » Mary's Musings » The Dose of Reality I Needed

The Dose of Reality I Needed


Sometimes in life, we get in funks…and I was in a small one late yesterday evening.  I got home from work and just let my mind go to some low places.  I retreated back to a bad habit I have been trying to kick…which made me feel even worse.  I went to bed, hoping and praying for some way to shake this off.   As I write this, I can’t help but smile because I asked and God listened….as he usually does.  He sent me the sign and kick I needed.  Today was one of the busiest days for our office and the staff spent the entire day at Lloyd Noble Center.  LNC, as it’s most commonly known, is home to the OU men’s and women’s basketball teams.  During one of my trips up the ramp to greet students, I passed by the entrance to the women’s basketball practice facility.  On my way back down toward the tunnel, I glanced inside and saw Jan Ross, one of the assistant coaches for the women’s basketball team.  Jan is going through treatment for breast cancer.  When I waived, she gave her trademark smile and continued on with her conversation.  Seeing Jan made me think, “What in the world do I have to be in a funk about?  My issues aren’t nearly as bad as what she is going through…”  She’s going through treatments, still coaching and carrying on with her typical positive attitude.  I saw Jan a few more times before we left LNC for the day and knew it was time for me to shift gears in my thinking and dealing with things.  I have plenty of reminders around me of people who are going through way more really crappy situations than me.   Anytime I think about retreating, I simply need to think of Jan…or the person back in San Antonio who is practically my second mother having her last surgery tomorrow for breast cancer….or her daughter who is 2 years older than me (34) who just got the dreaded diagnosis herself. 

So tonight, when I choose to put today to rest, I will do so with a clearer and refocused mind.   I have the choice to make the right, healthy decision and say no to the habit.  In a way, I can deal my own set of cards….but some aren’t as lucky. 

Sincerely,
De-funked in Norman

 

One thought on “The Dose of Reality I Needed

  1. A coke and heroine habit is a hard thing to kick. But I’m proud of you! Ha! LOL!

    Sorry, couldn’t resist. But girl, thanks for the reminder. You’re right: we can choose to do the right thing, especially when so many others are really going through something maybe a bit harder.

    I have faith in you!

Leave a Reply

