Home » Mary's Musings » Lunch at our usual place

Lunch at our usual place


cracker barrel

Today I had lunch with a friend of mine (we’ll call her Terri).  When she picked me up outside my building, she asked “So where do you want to go?”  I shook my head and said, “Oh no…your choice.”  She replied “Well, we could go to our usual place.  You’re really the only one i go there with actually.”  I smiled because I knew exactly where she meant: Cracker Barrel.  Who doesn’t love that place?  I did have to laugh when we walked in because we were decades younger than most of the crowd.

Though we’ve been there so many times, Terri and I still flipped through the menu. For two people who are notoriously “creatures of habit” (aka ordering the same thing each time), we surprised ourselves by going outside our comfort zone.  She ordered catfish and her main dish and I ordered country ham.  Ours sides remained the same but we still considered it a small victory.

This is one of my favorite places to eat because the staff is always friendly and food delicious.  Not to mention the cute merchandise.  You can really do some damage in their gift shop…yes, I’m speaking from experience.  Admitting it is the first step, stop judging.

As always, lunch was enjoyable as the company is just so easy to be around.  We can have moments of silence and be perfectly fine.  We can also make each other laugh which I love.

After just gotten out of an almost 2 hour staff meeting, lunch with Terri was just what I needed.  God has definitely blessed with me with a great group of friends.

Leave a Reply

