Home » Mary's Musings » Being open to God’s surprises

Being open to God’s surprises


I will admit that I am pretty set in my ways (change is not always my favorite word) and tend to be more interested in surprising other people rather than be the one who is receiving surprise.  However, I have learned to sit back and be content, no, more than content…be open to life’s curve balls.  Sometimes it is more fun to “let the chips fall” and not know what’s around the bend.  In Sunday’s homily, a guest priest started off mass by asking us if we would be open to God’s surprises.  I am confident enough in my faith that I would be able to handle not knowing every detail of his plan for me.  In fact, I find it exciting thinking about the endless possibilities.  What people does God want me to meet?  Who will come into my life for a reason/season/lifetime?  Whose lives will I able to impact in a positive way?  Things happen for a reason, I firmly believe that.  We may not understand the reason at the very moment we’d like, but there is an underlying reason.  Just this past weekend, I was able to do a favor for a lady attending the OU football game.  She made what sounded like a simple request.  It ended up more complicated than it should have been (due to circumstances out of my control) but it was worth it to see the smile on her face and genuine gratification.

Later that day,  I met up with a gentleman, graduate of OU, who had temporarily lost his wallet.  Thanks to getting email on his phone, he was able to call my mobile, and we were able to connect so I could return the wallet.  He was from out-of-town and had played in the alumni band at halftime.  He would be traveling for work soon and was afraid he’d have to cancel his credit cards.  Thankfully, that didn’t have to happen.

I love full circle moments.   I was open to God’s surprises and because of that, I was able to make someone’s day and then be able to pay it forward and connect with a fellow Sooner (that was just a bonus, of course).  The lesson I learned, and continue to learn is this: Put your faith in God and trust him.  He has your back.

Leave a Reply

