Home » holidays » Blank Canvas

Blank Canvas


Rise and shine…it’s 2020.  We have officially started a new decade, wait…what?  Where did the year go?  As I told a friend last night, think of it as a clean slate.  As always, a new year presents us with an opportunity to get things right.  Not all of life, let’s be realistic.  Maybe money, relationships, work, a new skill….whatever it may be that’s been nagging you.  For me, it’s….well we’re not talking about me.  This is just a general reminder that even if the past few months (or year) have been stressful or not what we’d hoped, this is January 1, 2020….a blank canvas if you will.  This is our chance to get a new set of paintbrushes (still with the metaphor) and have at it.  

I’ve been blessed to be off for the past two weeks and therefore have embraced the chances to rest, relax and recharge.  I’ve had full cups of coffee and enjoyed every sip of them; I’ve gone from room to room making my list of projects/wish list items for my house.  I’ve slept in….though I was sure the day was half over when I got up at 8:30 once.

Since we just finished the holidays (even though Christmas technically doesn’t end until January 6th), one activity that I can never tire of is watching Christmas movies.  I shook my head at the comments I read regarding “too many Christmas movies” on Hallmark channel.  Those poor people….who could tire of sweet stories where everyone is happy, not stressed, there’s snow, hot chocolate and more?  Do I watch them all year long…no….but it’s still the holidays in my mind, so all bets are off.

happy new year text

Photo by Jill Wellington on Pexels.com

A recent movie I watched, Christmas in Mississippi, starring Faith Ford as one of the characters had a line that stuck with me, “There’s nothing silly about having faith that hard times are going to get better.”  I couldn’t help but smile as we all need a little reminder sometimes to keep believing and having faith.  

So as we continue on the first day of the New Year…take charge of the little moments.  Embrace them….live with no regrets.  Taking the advice of someone I respect, “Make it count” (thank you, Fr. Carlos).  

Happy New Year to all!

Leave a comment